FPGAworld 2014

Registration Sep 11th  DTU (SCION), Building 372, Diplomvej 2800 Lyngby



Conference opening

Lennart Lindh, FPGAworld and Lars Dittmann, Technical University of Denmark



Key Note Session

Field Programmable SoCs: The Greatest Acceleration of the Innovation Race

Key Note Speakers: Hichem Belhadj, Microsemi Corp, USA
Hichem Belhadj has been involved in the Programmable Logic Industry since the late 80s. He has been with Microsemi SoC (former Actel) for over 15 years. Hichem has recently moved to Microsemi Corporate to lead the Field Systems and Applications Engineering. He holds a Master and a PhD from the Polytechnic Institute of Grenoble.

Session Chair: Lars Dittmann, Technical University of Denmark



Coffee&Tea Break

Sponsored by DTU, Technical University of Denmark


10:30 – 12:30

Product Program, C1-5

Session Chair: Ove Boström, FPGAworld


C1: Synopsys HAPS Developer eXpress FPGA-based Prototyping Solution
Antti Innamaa, Synopsys, USA,

Development of a 10G Ethernet UDT Server in FPGA
Steinn Gustafsson, Chevin Technology, United Kingdom,
Abstract, More information


C3: Introducing the world's only high density FPGA built using Intel's 22nm FinFet technology

Les MacInnes, Achronix, Abstract


C4:  Bridging the FPGA World and the PCB
Rick Stroot, InnoFour, Netherlands, Abstract



Lunch Break & Exhibition

Sponsored by DTU, Technical University of Denmark


13:30 – 15:15

Industrial and Student/Hackers Program, A1-3
Session Chair: 


A1: Use of FPGAs in Cryptocurrencies
Mike Dini, Dini Group, USA, Abstract, More information


A2: SimXMD: Simulation-based HW/SW Co-Debugging for FPGA Embedded Systems

Ruediger Willenberg, University of Toronto, Canada, Abstract, More information


A3: The Gates are Open: An overview of the OpenRISC Ecosystem

Olof Kindgren, Abstract, More information


A4; Working with Xilinx Zynq efficiently, (15 min)

Jan Viktorin and Pavol Korcek, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic, Abstract



Coffee Break

Sponsored by DTU, Technical University of Denmark


15:30 – 17:00


Academic Program, B1-3Session Chair: Johnny Öberg, KTH, Sweden

Front page, All abstracts

B1:  A Multi-Paradigm Approach to Teaching Students Embedded Systems Design using FPGAs and CPLDs David C. Dyer - School of Engineering, University of Warwick, UK, Yan Lin Aung - CHiPES Research Centre, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, More information


Product Program, C 5-6

Session Chair: Ove Boström, FPGAworld


C5: Silicon and Software for Easy 20nm Designs
Rune Domsten, Altera, Abstract

C6: Spacetime: High performance design made easy Tabula, Abstract

17:00 – about 17:30



Panel Discussion

Session Moderator: Rolf Sylvester-Hvid, Aktuel Elektronik, (Danish Magazine)


Johnny Öberg, KTH, Sweden

Jens Sparsö,  DTU, Denmark

Martin Shoeberl, DTU, Denmark



Sponsors FPGAworld 2014:  DTU Aktuell Elektronik ACM ÅF Elektroniktidningen